No More Dumb Diapers

Sometimes when you don’t know what to say, you sing.  

It was 3 in the morning, and it had been a rough night. And I don’t know why I picked this particular song, but I did–and she remembered.

She mouthed the words with me. Couldn’t believe she remembered.

When I was wee, I remember marching around the living room in our old Ambler house with my Grandma. We were celebrating. There was marching and singing and a plastic drum and a parade. I remember her waving her arms like a drum majorette. Potty training is a big deal, I guess–so much so that she made me my very own parade song.

“No more dumb diapers!

No more dumb diapers!

No more dumb diapers!

We’re wearing big girl pants!”

And I don’t know why, but I sang it to her–and her eyes lit up a bit, and she sang with me.

We sang it a couple times.

She even wanted to sing it for the nurse that came to help with a tough evening.

If an 83-year-old woman and a 30-year-old woman singing about diapers and “big girl pants” makes you tear up, you’re either very tired or extremely perceptive. I think this nurse was the latter.

Leave a Reply

