Optimism, Take 2

I wake up to a buzzing phone. It’s Gam. And it’s 6:30 a.m.

“Hello?”

“Jenny? It’s Gammy! And I’m just calling you to tell you that today is going to be a GOOD day, with the help of the Lord.”

“Oh yeah?” I roll over and squint at the clock. Yep. It’s 6:30.

“Chess! Because you’re going to pray it so, aren’t you?”

“Of course.”

“Ok. And we’re OFF! Talk to you tomorrow!”

[Click]

The cancer (never referred to as such . . . Gam always says “this thing” or “this disease,” or, my favorite, “this silly thing that they say I’ve got” . . . ) is a little unpredictable. It gives her good days where she feels like dancing and going on dates; and bad days where she can’t stay awake for more than a few moments at a time and wonders if “this is it.”  I hate those days.

But the Optimism keeps her going. Maybe it keeps me going, too. It’s her extra Ninja Trait, and by far my favorite.

If were a silly thing like cancer, I wouldn’t want to mess with Gam today. It’s going to be a good one.

"Holla!"

2 thoughts on “Optimism, Take 2

  1. Last year, when my mother was undergoing radiation and chemo for thyroid cancer, our local newspaper printed a HUGE headline for a local hospital ad, which stated: CANCER DOESN’T STAND A CHANCE. My sister cut it out and stuck it on the fridge because it is true. My mother beat her cancer, and I hope your grandmother does, too.

    I like the headline for more than the statement it pronounces. I like it because regardless of what we have and whether it eventually kills us, it doesn’t beat us until it takes our spirit and optimism. The thing I have has no treatments and no cure, so I know it will take me. But it won’t take my spirit. It won’t take my optimism and it won’t take my time to relate important information to those I love.

    You are on a critical mission that will save your own well-being while you travel this path with your grandmother. As a bonus, it will live out here in the great world of bouncing missives, searchable by those whose spirit and optimism could use a lift. Your words will supply that. Be sure of it.

    Your Gam agrees, I can tell.

    • Thank you for the encouragement and wise words. The Spirit is what’s strongest and helps us through.
      I’m glad that you’ve already determined that your optimism won’t be taken.
      Thanks again for your kindness and wisdom.

Leave a Reply

